you're reading...
Horse Racing, Malta, Times of Malta

President’s Cup heats

True Q – President’s Cup heat winner. Photo: Alan Carville

True Q – President’s Cup heat winner. Photo: Alan Carville

Yesterday’s meeting at Marsa heralded the start of the President’s Cup for Premier Class trotters with four heats on a long distance of 2,640m.

Twelve trotters qualified for the final stage of the President’s Cup.

Outsider True Q (Shawn Portelli) obtained its first win at the racetrack in the first heat.

This Swedish ten-year-old led all the way and finished first from Harmonic Silvio (Shawn Formosa) and favourite Livi Cantona (Charles Camilleri) in an average time of 1.17.1” per kilometre.

Another Swedish horse, Nec Carmolo (Noel Baldacchino), dashed strongly from the outside in the home straight of the second Premier heat to win from Arnie Sensation (Carmelo Farrugia), and Belafonte (Charlo Debono).

Nec Carmolo clocked an average time of 1.16” per kilometre which was the best time of the day at the racetrack.

There was a tight finish to the next Premier heat when Flash Coger (Julian Farrugia) and Malin Roro (Noel Baldacchino) sprinted together in the straight for home.

Flash Coger clocked 1.17.6” per kilometre to win the race with Le Coup de Foudre (Charles Camilleri) and Matin de Manche (Brian Hili) coming home third and fourth respectively.

In the remaining Premier heat, Swedish debutant Utah Hornline (Raymond Clifton) started in-creasing pace with a lap to go and finished a length-and-a half ahead of Skip Dimanche (Charlo Debono) in 1.17.2 per kilometre.

Yesterday’s winners
Race 1: Bronze, Cocos Kaos (Jason Vassallo).
Race 2: Silver, C.J. Blueyedkissed (Chris Vassallo).
Race 3: Premier, True Q (Shawn Portelli).
Race 4: Silver, Totti Boko (Charles Camilleri).
Race 5: Premier, Nec Carmolo (Noel Baldacchino).
Race 6: Bronze, Sweep The Floor (Julian Farrugia).
Race 7: Premier, Flash Coger (Julian Farrugia).
Race 8: Premier, Utah Hornline (Raymond Clifton).


About Kenneth Vella

A horse racing enthusiast and journalist. He started his career in 1992 and today is the main correspondent on horse racing for In-Nazzjon, Il-Mument and the Times of Malta. He also writes on a number of international magazines and produces TV programmes for E22 and TVM.Kenneth is the proud winner of two consecutive awards of the Malta Broadcasting Awards for the best sport programmes with documentaries.


No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

Videos mill-Korsa tal-Marsa

Follow me on
Now over 530 videos!


Follow Tiġrijiet Biss on
Tiġrijiet Biss kull nhar ta' Tlieta fuq TVM2 fis-7:30 ta' filgħaxija.


Srieken u nġenji ta' żwiemel ġodda u ta' kwalita'. Ċempel lil Etienne fuq 99427820

Prodotti Taljani ta' kwalita`
għaż-Żwiemel Tiegħek.
Miġjuba lilkom minn www.kennethvella.com

Prodott ġdid li jinkludi l-Omega 3. Tajjeb kontra l-ifjamazzjoni u jgħin l-artikolazzjoni. Għal aktar tagħrif cempel 79487838.