you're reading...
Horse Racing, Malta, Times of Malta

Top honour goes to Mig Of The Wood

Mig of the Wood sprints to victory. Photo: Chris Sant Fournier

Mig of the Wood sprints to victory. Photo: Chris Sant Fournier

Driven by Noel Baldacchino, Mig Of The Wood won yesterday’s top event, the Prix de Vincennes final for French Premier Class trotters.

Baldacchino won two of yesterday’s five SECF finals to finish as the best driver for 2011.

In the Premier race, Nelson du Val (Salvu Cutajar) was the fastest horse early on as it opened a half-length lead from Nevaio des Bordes (Brian Hili) and Noble d’Ete (Raymond Clifton).

But, 700m from the end, Nelson du Val changed pace with Nevaio des Bordes going in front. In the final metres, the latter surrendered the lead to Mig Of The Wood (Baldacchino) with Joker de Choisel (Frenċu Cassar) and Milord Barbes (Charles Camilleri) claiming the other top-four positions.

Major Chaleonnais (Charlò Debono) had a disappointing race but still kept the title as the most consistent horse this year.

Night Inlet (Baldacchino) pulled clear in the final metres of the Prix d’Enghien final for Gold Class trotters. This 10-year-old horse gained its third win from Nomade de Mai (Camilleri), Lys des Etroits (Hili) and Naja In Blue (Mario Falzon).

Label Chouan (David Ellul) dashed strongly from the outside midway through the final straight of the Prix de Cabourg final for Silver Class trotters. The French 12-year-old secured its fourth win from Nagano Phedo (Mario Fenech), Mealington (Carl Caruana) and Nevada Silver (Ronald Cassar).

In the Prix de Cagnes Sur Mer Final for Bronze trotters, Olifant du Puoy (Frans Tanti) and Marchallach (Rodney Gatt) sprinted together but it was the former which claimed first place. Orgeat (Baldacchino) and Monte Cinto Mag (Benny Briffa) were third and fourth respectively.

In the Prix de Caen final for Copper Class trotters, Koko Loco (Jesmar Gafa) won by a length from New Hope (Ellul) and Joker du Cornica (Victor Grech). Jeo de Touvois (Chris Vassallo) was fourth.

The last meeting of the year at Marsa is scheduled to take place on December 30, starting at 1.30 p.m.

Yesterday’s winners at Marsa

Race 1: Copper, Gamin Launcher (Jeffrey Xerri).
Race 2: Prix de Caen final (Copper), Koko Loco (Jesmar Gafa).
Race 3: Prix de Cagnes Sur Mer final (Bronze), Olifant du Puoy (Frans Tanti).
Race 4: Prix de Cabourg final (Silver), Label Chouan (David Ellul).
Race 5: Prix d’Enghien final (Gold), Night Inlet (Noel Baldacchino).
Race 6: Prix de Vincennes final (Premier), Mig Of The Wood (Noel Baldacchino).
Race 7: Copper, Mirall Composite (Frans Tanti).


About Kenneth Vella

A horse racing enthusiast and journalist. He started his career in 1992 and today is the main correspondent on horse racing for In-Nazzjon, Il-Mument and the Times of Malta. He also writes on a number of international magazines and produces TV programmes for E22 and TVM.Kenneth is the proud winner of two consecutive awards of the Malta Broadcasting Awards for the best sport programmes with documentaries.


No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Videos mill-Korsa tal-Marsa

Follow me on
Now over 530 videos!


Follow Tiġrijiet Biss on
Tiġrijiet Biss kull nhar ta' Tlieta fuq TVM2 fis-7:30 ta' filgħaxija.


Srieken u nġenji ta' żwiemel ġodda u ta' kwalita'. Ċempel lil Etienne fuq 99427820

Prodotti Taljani ta' kwalita`
għaż-Żwiemel Tiegħek.
Miġjuba lilkom minn www.kennethvella.com

Prodott ġdid li jinkludi l-Omega 3. Tajjeb kontra l-ifjamazzjoni u jgħin l-artikolazzjoni. Għal aktar tagħrif cempel 79487838.